Career Training Path

Career Training Path › Maryland › Garrett College

Garrett College

McHenry, Maryland · Public community college · Training programs available:

EMT & paramedic training
34%completion rate · Maryland avg 47%
$10,750median debt of graduates
$28,920median earnings, 6 yrs after entry
$35,823median earnings, 10 yrs after entry
not reportedannual cost of attendance
Yesfederal aid (FAFSA / Pell) eligible
Accreditation: Middle States Commission on Higher Education (Accredited)
Address: 687 Mosser Road, McHenry, MD 21541 · Phone: (301) 387-3000 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
Accountability record (federal accreditation database, last 36 months; Department of Education oversight)
No accreditor sanctions in the last 36 months
Sanctions are probation, warning, show-cause and loss-of-accreditation actions by any recognized accreditor, including program-specific accreditors (a nursing-program probation counts for the campus). Routine monitoring reviews and voluntary withdrawals are not counted. Ask the school what the action concerned and how it was resolved.

Garrett College is a public trade and career school in McHenry, Maryland, offering EMT & paramedic training, and is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education.

Garrett College has a 34.0% completion rate versus a 46.9% Maryland state average, with median graduate debt of $10,750 and median earnings of $35,823 ten years after entry, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.

Cost of attendance is not reported in federal data for Garrett College; contact the school for current tuition. Federal financial aid can be used here, and about 31.0% of students receive Pell Grants.

Completion rate vs. benchmarks
Garrett College Garrett College: 34% 34% Maryland average Maryland average: 46.9% 46.9% National average National average: 62.1% 62.1%

What these trades pay once you're working

OccupationStarting (10th pct)MedianExperienced (75th)
Emergency medical technicians$39,960$48,100$61,460

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in Maryland (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.

Trade programs at this campus

ProgramCredentialGrads / yrEarnings, yr 1Earnings, yr 2Median debt
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions Associate degree 4 not reported not reported not reported

Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.

Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.

Visit the school's website ↗

The Path · Free weekly newsletter
Career training, minus the guesswork.
Which programs finish, what graduates owe, what they earn. Every week.
Subscribe →

About this school

Garrett College is a public trade and career training campus in McHenry, Maryland, accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education. Federal financial aid, including FAFSA and Pell Grants, can be used by students who qualify. The campus's main trade offering is EMT & paramedic training, with 4 completers reported in this program family.

Federal data shows a completion rate of 34.0%, which is below the Maryland state average of 46.9%. Graduates who took out loans carried a median debt of $10,750, and median earnings 10 years after entry were $35,823. Cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data. About 31.0% of students at Garrett College receive Pell Grants, indicating a meaningful share of low-income students are enrolled.

With a small trade program count and located in a distant rural setting, this campus may suit students focused specifically on emergency medical services training rather than those seeking a broad range of trade options. Program length for EMT & paramedic training is not reported for this campus in federal data, so applicants should confirm scheduling directly with the school. Prospective students and career changers should verify accreditation status and outcome data through the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard and by contacting the school directly, since some figures, such as cost of attendance, are not reported for this campus in federal data.

Questions students ask

What trade and career programs does this campus offer?

Garrett College offers EMT & paramedic training, with 4 completers reported in federal data for this program family. No other trade program families are listed for this campus.

Is this school accredited, and by whom?

Yes, Garrett College is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education, and its accreditation status is listed as Accredited.

Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?

Yes, Garrett College participates in Title IV federal student aid programs, so students who qualify can use FAFSA and Pell Grants.

What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?

The completion rate at Garrett College is 34.0%, which is below the Maryland state average of 46.9%.

How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?

Graduates of Garrett College carry a median debt of $10,750, according to federal data.

What do graduates of this school earn?

Median earnings for graduates 10 years after entry are $35,823, per federal data.

How much does it cost to attend for a year?

Cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school at (301) 387-3000 or visit its website for current tuition figures.

Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?

Garrett College is a public institution, which can affect tuition rates and eligibility for certain state or federal aid programs compared to private for-profit schools.

How long do the programs here take to complete?

Program length for EMT & paramedic training is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school directly to confirm scheduling and duration.

How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?

You can verify accreditation through the Middle States Commission on Higher Education and review outcome data on the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard at https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?162609.

Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?

The data does not report program length or schedule flexibility, so fit for adult career changers cannot be confirmed from federal data alone; contact the school to ask about scheduling options.

What license or certification will I need after finishing a program here?

Licensing or certification requirements after completing EMT & paramedic training are not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school or your state's EMS licensing board for details.

How do I contact the school or apply?

You can reach Garrett College at (301) 387-3000 or through its website at https://www.garrettcollege.edu/index.php.

How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?

Federal data does not include comparative rankings against other nearby schools; use the College Scorecard at https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?162609 to compare completion rates, debt, and earnings across institutions.

Nearby trade and career schools in Maryland

See all trade and career schools in Maryland or search by ZIP code.

Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.

Choosing a career program? Pick with the numbers.
Completion, debt and pay for real programs, plus one practical tip a week. Free.
Subscribe →