Career Training Path

Career Training PathMaryland › Prince George's Community College

Prince George's Community College

Largo, Maryland · Public community college

Medical billing & coding programsRadiology & sonography programsCulinary & pastry schoolsConstruction trades programsSurgical technologist programsMedical assistant programsEMT & paramedic trainingLPN / LVN programs
18%completion rate · Maryland avg 47%
$10,500median debt of graduates
$37,482median earnings, 6 yrs after entry
$47,548median earnings, 10 yrs after entry
not reportedannual cost of attendance
Yesfederal aid (FAFSA / Pell) eligible
Accreditation: Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing | Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology | Maryland Board of Nursing | Middle States Commission on Higher Education (Accredited)
Address: 301 Largo Rd, Largo, MD 20774 · Phone: (301) 546-7422 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
Accountability record (federal accreditation database, last 36 months; Department of Education oversight)
No accreditor sanctions in the last 36 months
Sanctions are probation, warning, show-cause and loss-of-accreditation actions by any recognized accreditor, including program-specific accreditors (a nursing-program probation counts for the campus). Routine monitoring reviews and voluntary withdrawals are not counted. Ask the school what the action concerned and how it was resolved.

Prince George's Community College is a public trade school in Largo, Maryland offering medical billing & coding, radiology & sonography, and culinary programs, accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education.

Per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, Prince George's Community College has an 18.4% completion rate versus a 46.9% Maryland state average, with graduates carrying a median debt of $10,500 and median earnings of $47,548 ten years after entry.

Annual cost of attendance is not reported in federal data for Prince George's Community College; contact the school for current tuition. Federal financial aid can be used here, and about 32.5% of students receive Pell Grants.

Completion rate vs. benchmarks
Prince George's Commu… Prince George's Commu…: 18.4% 18.4% Maryland average Maryland average: 46.9% 46.9% National average National average: 62.1% 62.1%

What these trades pay once you're working

OccupationStarting (10th pct)MedianExperienced (75th)
Medical records specialists$35,400$54,220$65,770
Radiologic technologists and technicians$68,140$85,890$99,880
Chefs and head cooks$38,310$61,590$78,590
Construction laborers$36,430$46,960$55,540
Surgical technologists$45,590$68,970$81,390
Medical assistants$36,930$46,410$49,110
Emergency medical technicians$39,960$48,100$61,460
Licensed practical and licensed vocational nurses$60,720$74,660$79,670

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in Maryland (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.

Trade programs at this campus

ProgramCredentialGrads / yrEarnings, yr 1Earnings, yr 2Median debt
Health and Medical Administrative Services Associate degree 34 not reported not reported not reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions Associate degree 19 $56,340 $58,866 $10,500
Culinary Arts and Related Services Associate degree 18 not reported not reported not reported
Building/Construction Finishing, Management, and Inspection Associate degree 11 not reported not reported not reported
Health and Medical Administrative Services Certificate, 1–2 years 9 not reported not reported not reported
Building/Construction Finishing, Management, and Inspection Certificate, 300–899 hours 8 not reported not reported not reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions Associate degree 7 $56,340 $58,866 $10,500
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions Associate degree 5 $56,340 $58,866 $10,500
Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services Associate degree 5 not reported not reported not reported
Culinary Arts and Related Services Certificate, 1–2 years 5 not reported not reported not reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions Associate degree 4 $56,340 $58,866 $10,500
Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants Certificate, 1–2 years 2 not reported not reported not reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions Certificate, 1–2 years 1 $65,182 not reported not reported

Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.

Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.

Visit the school's website ↗

The Path
Nine months to a paycheck that AI can't take.
A free weekly newsletter for people choosing a hands-on career: trades, technical and healthcare.
Subscribe →

About this school

Prince George's Community College is a public trade and career school in Largo, Maryland. It is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education, with additional program-level accreditation from the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing, the Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology, and the Maryland Board of Nursing. Federal financial aid, including FAFSA and Pell Grants, can be used at this school. The campus offers 13 program families, with the most-awarded trade programs being medical billing & coding (43 completions), radiology & sonography (24 completions), and culinary & pastry programs (23 completions).

Federal data shows a completion rate of 18.4%, which is below the Maryland state average of 46.9%. Graduates who took out loans carried a median debt of $10,500. Median earnings 10 years after entry were $47,548. Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data. About 32.5% of students receive Pell Grants, indicating a meaningful share of low-income students are enrolled.

This campus, located in a large suburb, offers a mix of certificate and program-track training across health, culinary, and construction trades, which may suit both recent graduates and adult career-changers depending on program length and format — though specific program lengths are not reported here. Prospective students should verify current accreditation status and review official outcome data directly through the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, and confirm program details with the school directly before enrolling.

Questions students ask

What trade and career programs does this campus offer?

Prince George's Community College offers 13 program families, with the most completions in medical billing & coding (43), radiology & sonography (24), and culinary & pastry programs (23). Other program families include construction trades, EMT training, LPN programs, medical assistant programs, and surgical tech programs.

Is this school accredited, and by whom?

Yes, the school is accredited. Its institutional accreditor is the Middle States Commission on Higher Education, with program-level accreditation from the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing, the Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology, and the Maryland Board of Nursing.

Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?

Yes, this school participates in Title IV federal financial aid programs, so FAFSA and Pell Grants can be used.

What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?

The completion rate is 18.4%, which is below the Maryland state average of 46.9%, per federal data.

How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?

Graduates who borrowed carried a median debt of $10,500, according to federal data.

What do graduates of this school earn?

Median earnings 10 years after entry were $47,548, per federal data.

How much does it cost to attend for a year?

Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data. Contact the school at (301) 546-7422 or visit https://www.pgcc.edu/ for current tuition figures.

Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?

This is a public school, which typically means lower published tuition for state residents compared to for-profit institutions, though specific tuition figures are not reported here.

How long do the programs here take to complete?

Program lengths are not reported for this campus in federal data. Contact the school directly to confirm program duration.

How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?

You can verify accreditation status through the Middle States Commission on Higher Education and review federal outcome data directly at the College Scorecard: https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?163657.

Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?

The data does not specify program formats or schedules, so fit for adult career-changers cannot be confirmed from federal data alone; contact the school to ask about program flexibility.

What license or certification will I need after finishing a program here?

Licensing and certification requirements are not reported in this data. Contact the school directly to learn what credentials, such as nursing or radiologic technology licensure, may apply to specific programs.

How do I contact the school or apply?

You can reach Prince George's Community College at (301) 546-7422 or visit https://www.pgcc.edu/ for application information.

How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?

This data does not include comparisons with other nearby schools; check the College Scorecard at https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?163657 to compare outcomes across institutions.

Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.

The Path
Lineworkers earn $95k. Dental hygienists $98k. Barbers $38k.
The federal numbers on every trade, technical and healthcare career, in a free weekly newsletter.
Subscribe →