Career Training Path › Georgia › Georgia Piedmont Technical College
Georgia Piedmont Technical College
Clarkston, Georgia · Public technical college · Training programs available:
Address: 495 N Indian Creek Dr, Clarkston, GA 30021 · Phone: 40429795221282 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
No accreditor sanctions in the last 36 months
Georgia Piedmont Technical College is a public trade school in Clarkston, Georgia offering HVAC, auto mechanic, and welding programs, accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools.
Georgia Piedmont Technical College has a 44.1% completion rate, below the Georgia state average of 49.7%, with graduates carrying a median debt of $12,666 and median earnings of $34,619 ten years after entry, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.
Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data. Federal financial aid, including FAFSA and Pell Grants, can be used here, and about 44.9% of students receive Pell Grants.
What these trades pay once you're working
| Occupation | Starting (10th pct) | Median | Experienced (75th) |
|---|---|---|---|
| HVAC and refrigeration mechanics and installers | $36,990 | $56,390 | $66,180 |
| Automotive service technicians and mechanics | $33,580 | $49,060 | $65,530 |
| Welders, cutters, solderers and brazers | $38,030 | $48,430 | $58,240 |
| Heavy and tractor-trailer truck drivers | $38,150 | $57,050 | $68,780 |
| Licensed practical and licensed vocational nurses | $46,010 | $62,030 | $70,690 |
| Hairdressers, hairstylists and cosmetologists | $17,310 | $34,560 | $48,730 |
| Medical assistants | $34,270 | $41,600 | $46,870 |
| Medical records specialists | $36,260 | $51,550 | $64,840 |
| Emergency medical technicians | $33,910 | $45,550 | $48,400 |
| Nursing assistants | $30,300 | $37,680 | $42,980 |
| Construction laborers | $27,880 | $38,990 | $46,950 |
| Phlebotomists | $34,600 | $45,840 | $50,250 |
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in Georgia (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.
Trade programs at this campus
| Program | Credential | Grads / yr | Earnings, yr 1 | Earnings, yr 2 | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 76 | $28,507 | $26,739 | not reported |
| Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR) | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 61 | $37,848 | $33,993 | not reported |
| Precision Metal Working | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 54 | not reported | $33,281 | not reported |
| Ground Transportation | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 47 | $36,968 | $35,416 | not reported |
| Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants | Certificate, 1–2 years | 26 | $40,105 | $38,289 | not reported |
| Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR) | Certificate, 1–2 years | 19 | $37,848 | $33,993 | not reported |
| Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR) | Associate degree | 18 | $41,375 | $42,123 | not reported |
| Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services | Certificate, 1–2 years | 16 | $28,890 | not reported | $9,500 |
| Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services | Certificate, 1–2 years | 14 | $14,699 | $13,702 | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 1–2 years | 10 | $28,507 | $26,739 | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 2–4 years | 10 | $28,507 | $26,739 | not reported |
| Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 9 | $14,699 | $13,702 | not reported |
| Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR) | Certificate, 2–4 years | 8 | $37,848 | $33,993 | not reported |
| Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 7 | $40,105 | $38,289 | not reported |
| Precision Metal Working | Certificate, 1–2 years | 7 | not reported | $33,281 | not reported |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 6 | $32,174 | $21,964 | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Associate degree | 6 | not reported | $26,585 | not reported |
| Health and Medical Administrative Services | Certificate, 1–2 years | 5 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Health and Medical Administrative Services | Associate degree | 5 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Carpenters | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 4 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Certificate, 1–2 years | 2 | $32,174 | $21,964 | not reported |
| Health and Medical Administrative Services | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 2 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Associate degree | 1 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Carpenters | Associate degree | 1 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 1 | $23,441 | not reported | not reported |
Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.
Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.
About this school
Georgia Piedmont Technical College is a public trade and career-training campus in Clarkston, Georgia, located in a large suburb setting. The school is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, and federal financial aid, including FAFSA and Pell Grants, can be used here. Across 25 program offerings, the campus awards the most credentials in HVAC schools (106 completions), auto mechanic schools (102 completions), and welding schools (61 completions), alongside other trade families such as CDL training, LPN programs, cosmetology, medical assisting, and phlebotomy.
Federal data show a completion rate of 44.1%, which is below the Georgia state average of 49.7%. Graduates carry a median debt of $12,666, and median earnings 10 years after entry are $34,619, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data. About 44.9% of students receive Pell Grants, indicating a substantial share of lower-income students. Undergraduate enrollment is 2,198, with 415 trade program completers recorded.
This campus may suit students interested in shorter, hands-on trade programs in fields like HVAC, auto mechanics, and welding rather than long academic transfer paths, though specific program lengths are not detailed here. Adult learners and career changers considering enrollment should verify current program length, cost, and schedule directly with the school. To confirm accreditation status and review the latest federal outcome data, contact Georgia Piedmont Technical College directly or consult the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.
Questions students ask
What trade and career programs does this campus offer?
Georgia Piedmont Technical College offers 25 program areas, with the most completions in HVAC schools (106), auto mechanic schools (102), and welding schools (61). It also offers CDL training, LPN programs, cosmetology, medical assisting, medical billing/coding, EMT training, CNA classes, construction trades, and phlebotomy.
Is this school accredited, and by whom?
Yes, the college is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, and its accreditation status is listed as accredited.
Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?
Yes, this school participates in Title IV federal financial aid programs, so FAFSA and Pell Grants can be used here.
What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?
The completion rate is 44.1%, which is below the Georgia state average of 49.7%.
How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?
Graduates carry a median debt of $12,666, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.
What do graduates of this school earn?
Median earnings 10 years after entry are $34,619, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.
How much does it cost to attend for a year?
Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school directly for current tuition information.
Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?
Georgia Piedmont Technical College is a public institution, which can affect tuition rates and eligibility for certain state or federal aid programs.
How long do the programs here take to complete?
Program length is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school directly to confirm program duration.
How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?
You can verify accreditation through the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools and review outcome data on the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard at https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?244446.
Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?
The campus offers hands-on trade programs such as HVAC, auto mechanics, and welding, which may appeal to career changers, though specific scheduling and program length details are not reported here; contact the school to confirm fit for your situation.
What license or certification will I need after finishing a program here?
Licensing and certification requirements are not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school directly or check with your state's licensing board for specifics.
How do I contact the school or apply?
You can reach Georgia Piedmont Technical College by phone at 40429795221282 or visit their website at https://www.gptc.edu/ for application information.
How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?
Comparative data on nearby schools is not reported for this campus in federal data; consult the College Scorecard at https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?244446 to compare institutions.
Nearby trade and career schools in Georgia
- Chattahoochee Technical CollegeMarietta, GA · 38% completion
- Gwinnett Technical CollegeLawrenceville, GA · 32% completion
- Georgia Career InstituteConyers, GA · 69% completion
- United Education Institute-Stone MountainStone Mountain, GA · 56% completion
- Aviation Institute of Maintenance-AtlantaDuluth, GA · 46% completion
- Paul Mitchell the School-EsaniRoswell, GA · 77% completion
- Fortis College-SmyrnaSmyrna, GA · 59% completion
- Lincoln College of Technology-MariettaMarietta, GA · 64% completion
See all trade and career schools in Georgia or search by ZIP code.
Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.