Career Training Path › Illinois › Kishwaukee College
Kishwaukee College
Malta, Illinois · Public community college · Training programs available:
Address: 21193 Malta Rd, Malta, IL 60150 · Phone: (815) 825-2086 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
No accreditor sanctions in the last 36 months
Kishwaukee College is a public trade and career school in Malta, Illinois offering CNA classes, EMT & paramedic training, and auto mechanic programs, accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.
Kishwaukee College has a 44.8% completion rate, below the Illinois state average of 58.4%, with median graduate debt of $9,395 and median earnings of $39,657 ten years after entry, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.
Annual cost of attendance is not reported in federal data for Kishwaukee College; the school participates in federal Title IV aid, and about 26.3% of students receive Pell Grants.
What these trades pay once you're working
| Occupation | Starting (10th pct) | Median | Experienced (75th) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nursing assistants | $37,590 | $45,960 | $48,380 |
| Emergency medical technicians | $36,420 | $42,260 | $49,640 |
| Automotive service technicians and mechanics | $34,190 | $49,170 | $73,640 |
| Radiologic technologists and technicians | $59,350 | $79,930 | $97,950 |
| Welders, cutters, solderers and brazers | $38,890 | $51,320 | $61,520 |
| Bus and truck mechanics and diesel engine specialists | $44,760 | $64,340 | $80,640 |
| Medical records specialists | $38,890 | $56,440 | $64,360 |
| Medical assistants | $36,400 | $46,090 | $49,460 |
| Construction laborers | $38,880 | $60,690 | $95,240 |
| Massage therapists | $33,770 | $60,490 | $77,550 |
| Chefs and head cooks | $40,330 | $58,830 | $73,620 |
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in Illinois (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.
Trade programs at this campus
| Program | Credential | Grads / yr | Earnings, yr 1 | Earnings, yr 2 | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants | Certificate, under 300 hours | 84 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services | Certificate, under 300 hours | 27 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Associate degree | 12 | not reported | $45,026 | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 11 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Associate degree | 7 | $39,128 | $26,933 | not reported |
| Health and Medical Administrative Services | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 6 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Precision Metal Working | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 6 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Certificate, 1–2 years | 4 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services | Certificate, 1–2 years | 4 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Building/Construction Finishing, Management, and Inspection | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 3 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 1–2 years | 3 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Precision Metal Working | Certificate, 1–2 years | 2 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Somatic Bodywork and Related Therapeutic Services | Certificate, 1–2 years | 2 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Associate degree | 2 | $39,128 | $26,933 | not reported |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Associate degree | 1 | not reported | $45,026 | not reported |
| Culinary Arts and Related Services | Associate degree | 1 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.
Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.
About this school
Kishwaukee College is a public trade and career training campus in Malta, Illinois. It participates in federal Title IV financial aid, meaning students can use FAFSA and Pell Grants to help pay for programs. The college holds accreditation from the Higher Learning Commission, the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing, and the Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology. Its most-awarded trade programs are CNA classes, EMT & paramedic training, and auto mechanic schools, part of a broader lineup of 16 program families that includes welding, diesel mechanics, medical billing and coding, medical assisting, construction trades, massage therapy, and culinary arts.
On outcomes, Kishwaukee College reports a completion rate of 44.8%, which is below the state average of 58.4%. Graduates carry a median debt of $9,395, and median earnings ten years after entry are reported at $39,657. About 26.3% of students receive Pell Grants. Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data.
Given its mix of short certificate-style programs like CNA and EMT training alongside longer technical tracks such as radiology tech, this campus may suit both quick career-entry students and those seeking more extended technical training; program length details are not reported for this campus in federal data, so the fit for adult career-changers should be confirmed directly with the school. Prospective students can verify accreditation status and outcome data through the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard or by contacting the college directly.
Questions students ask
What trade and career programs does this campus offer?
Kishwaukee College offers 16 program families, most notably CNA classes, EMT & paramedic training, and auto mechanic schools, along with radiology tech, welding, diesel mechanics, medical billing and coding, medical assisting, construction trades, massage therapy, and culinary programs.
Is this school accredited, and by whom?
Yes, Kishwaukee College is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission, the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing, and the Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology.
Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?
Yes, Kishwaukee College participates in Title IV federal financial aid programs, so students can use FAFSA and Pell Grants.
What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?
The completion rate is 44.8%, which is below the Illinois state average of 58.4%.
How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?
Graduates carry a median debt of $9,395, per federal data.
What do graduates of this school earn?
Median earnings ten years after entry are reported at $39,657.
How much does it cost to attend for a year?
Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school directly at (815) 825-2086 or via its website for current tuition figures.
Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?
Kishwaukee College is a public institution, which often means lower tuition for in-state students compared to private for-profit trade schools.
How long do the programs here take to complete?
Program length is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school to confirm the duration of specific programs like CNA or EMT training.
How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?
You can verify accreditation and outcomes through the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard at https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?146418 or by contacting the college directly.
Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?
The campus offers a mix of shorter certificate-style programs, such as CNA and EMT training, alongside longer technical tracks like radiology tech, but specific fit for adult career-changers is not detailed in federal data, so contacting the school is recommended.
How do I contact the school or apply?
You can reach Kishwaukee College by phone at (815) 825-2086 or visit its website at https://www.kish.edu/ for application details.
What license or certification will I need after finishing a program here?
Licensing or certification requirements are not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school directly to learn about requirements for programs such as EMT or radiologic technology.
How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?
Comparative data with nearby schools is not reported in federal data; the College Scorecard link provided can be used to compare completion rates, costs, and outcomes across institutions.
Nearby trade and career schools in Illinois
- College of DuPageGlen Ellyn, IL · 25% completion
- Lincoln College of Technology-Melrose ParkMelrose Park, IL · 69% completion
- Elgin Community CollegeElgin, IL · 41% completion
- Triton CollegeRiver Grove, IL · 29% completion
- G Skin & Beauty InstituteSchaumburg, IL · 64% completion
- Pivot Point AcademyBloomingdale, IL · 91% completion
- Tricoci University of Beauty Culture-ElginElgin, IL · 89% completion
- Tricoci University of Beauty Culture-Glendale HeightsGlendale Heights, IL · career school
See all trade and career schools in Illinois or search by ZIP code.
Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.