Career Training Path › New York › SUNY Westchester Community College
SUNY Westchester Community College
Valhalla, New York · Public community college · Training programs available:
Address: 75 Grasslands Road, Valhalla, NY 10595 · Phone: (914) 606-6600 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
Sanction on record, since lifted — Jun 2024 · Warning · Middle States Commission on Higher Education; Nov 2025 · Accreditation Reaffirmed: Warning Removed.
SUNY Westchester Community College is a public trade and career school in Valhalla, NY offering medical billing & coding, EMT training, and radiology programs, accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education.
SUNY Westchester Community College has a 24.8% completion rate, below the state average of 64.0%, with median graduate debt of $10,400 and median earnings of $46,822 ten years after entry, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.
Annual cost of attendance is not reported in federal data for SUNY Westchester Community College; the school participates in Title IV federal aid, and about 34.5% of students receive Pell Grants.
What these trades pay once you're working
| Occupation | Starting (10th pct) | Median | Experienced (75th) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Medical records specialists | $40,730 | $61,720 | $79,120 |
| Emergency medical technicians | $39,890 | $48,400 | $63,870 |
| Radiologic technologists and technicians | $67,540 | $98,470 | $110,950 |
| Chefs and head cooks | $46,260 | $70,670 | $93,240 |
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in New York (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.
Trade programs at this campus
| Program | Credential | Grads / yr | Earnings, yr 1 | Earnings, yr 2 | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Certificate, 1–2 years | 25 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Associate degree | 20 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Health and Medical Administrative Services | Associate degree | 13 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Culinary Arts and Related Services | Associate degree | 11 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Health and Medical Administrative Services | Certificate, 1–2 years | 10 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Health and Medical Administrative Services | Certificate, 1–2 years | 9 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Associate degree | 4 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.
Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.
About this school
SUNY Westchester Community College is a public community college in Valhalla, New York, accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education, with additional program-level accreditation from the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing and the Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology. Because it is a Title IV institution, students can use federal financial aid, including FAFSA and Pell Grants. The campus awards trade and career credentials across seven program families, most commonly in medical billing & coding (32 completions), EMT & paramedic training (29), and radiology & sonography (20).
Federal data shows a completion rate of 24.8%, below the state average of 64.0%. Graduates carry a median debt of $10,400, and median earnings ten years after entry are $46,822. About 34.5% of students receive Pell Grants. Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data.
With 8,078 undergraduates in a large suburb setting, this campus serves a broad mix of students, including those pursuing short career-focused certificates alongside longer associate degree tracks in fields like radiology. The presence of programmatic accreditation in nursing-adjacent and radiologic technology fields may appeal to students seeking licensure-track training, though prospective students should confirm program length and format directly with the school. To verify accreditation status and review the latest outcome data, consult the Middle States Commission on Higher Education and the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.
Questions students ask
What trade and career programs does this campus offer?
SUNY Westchester Community College offers seven trade and career program families, most notably medical billing & coding, EMT & paramedic training, and radiology & sonography programs.
Is this school accredited, and by whom?
Yes, the school is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education, with additional programmatic accreditation from the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing and the Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology.
Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?
Yes, this is a Title IV institution, so students can use FAFSA and Pell Grants to help pay for their education.
What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?
The completion rate is 24.8%, which is below the New York state average of 64.0%.
How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?
Graduates carry a median debt of $10,400, per federal data.
What do graduates of this school earn?
Median earnings ten years after entry are $46,822, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.
How much does it cost to attend for a year?
Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school for current tuition figures.
Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?
This is a public college, which often means lower tuition for state residents and eligibility for state-funded aid programs compared with for-profit institutions.
How long do the programs here take to complete?
Specific program lengths are not reported in the available data; contact the school directly at (914) 606-6600 or visit sunywcc.edu to confirm program durations.
How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?
You can confirm accreditation through the Middle States Commission on Higher Education and review federal outcome data via the College Scorecard at https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?197294.
Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?
The school offers a mix of shorter certificate programs and longer associate degree tracks, which may suit adult learners, but specific scheduling and format details should be confirmed with the school.
What license or certification will I need after finishing a program here?
Licensing requirements are not detailed in the available data; the presence of nursing and radiologic technology accreditation suggests these fields have licensure components, so contact the school for specifics.
How do I contact the school or apply?
You can reach SUNY Westchester Community College at (914) 606-6600 or through its website, sunywcc.edu.
How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?
Comparative data on nearby schools is not included here; use the College Scorecard link to compare completion rates, debt, and earnings across institutions.
Nearby trade and career schools in New York
- Westchester School for Medical & Dental AssistantsArdsley, NY · 100% completion
- Westchester School of Beauty CultureMount Vernon, NY · 77% completion
- Empire Beauty School-PeekskillPeekskill, NY · 89% completion
- Mercy UniversityDobbs Ferry, NY · university
- Mar-Can Transportation, Inc.Mount Vernon, NY
- Public schools of the tarrytownssleepy hollow, NY
- Scarsdale Highway DepartmentScarsdale, NY
- Institute of Culinary EducationNew York, NY · career college
See all trade and career schools in New York or search by ZIP code.
Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.