Career Training Path › Tennessee › Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Knoxville
Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Knoxville
Knoxville, Tennessee · Public technical college · Training programs available:
Address: 1100 Liberty Street, Knoxville, TN 37919 · Phone: (865) 546-5567 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
Sanction on record, not yet lifted — Jun 2025 · Warning or Equivalent-Factors Affecting Academic Quality · Council on Occupational Education; Mar 2024 · Renewal of Accreditation. 2 sanction actions in the window.
Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Knoxville is a public trade school in Knoxville, TN offering welding, LPN, and auto mechanic programs, accredited by the Council on Occupational Education.
Per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, this campus has a 71.2% completion rate versus a 64.3% state average, with median graduate earnings of $37,235 ten years after entry. Median debt figures are not reported for this campus.
Annual cost of attendance at Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Knoxville is $23,962, and the school participates in federal financial aid programs including FAFSA and Pell Grants, with 35.1% of students receiving Pell.
What these trades pay once you're working
| Occupation | Starting (10th pct) | Median | Experienced (75th) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Welders, cutters, solderers and brazers | $37,840 | $48,040 | $57,450 |
| Licensed practical and licensed vocational nurses | $41,110 | $58,870 | $62,650 |
| Automotive service technicians and mechanics | $34,820 | $50,290 | $63,790 |
| Electricians | $39,600 | $61,090 | $76,060 |
| HVAC and refrigeration mechanics and installers | $38,540 | $55,490 | $65,590 |
| Hairdressers, hairstylists and cosmetologists | $25,700 | $31,310 | $39,990 |
| Nursing assistants | $31,110 | $37,990 | $40,880 |
| Surgical technologists | $47,620 | $60,530 | $64,430 |
| Bus and truck mechanics and diesel engine specialists | $40,450 | $59,190 | $71,610 |
| Heavy and tractor-trailer truck drivers | $39,960 | $58,620 | $73,420 |
| Plumbers, pipefitters and steamfitters | $38,520 | $58,600 | $73,460 |
| Machinists | $37,560 | $49,600 | $61,220 |
| Dental assistants | $37,810 | $46,720 | $59,270 |
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in Tennessee (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.
Trade programs at this campus
| Program | Credential | Grads / yr | Earnings, yr 1 | Earnings, yr 2 | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants | Certificate, 1–2 years | 85 | $38,732 | not reported | not reported |
| Precision Metal Working | Certificate, 1–2 years | 79 | $31,729 | not reported | not reported |
| Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR) | Certificate, 1–2 years | 47 | $30,489 | not reported | not reported |
| Electrical and Power Transmission Installers | Certificate, 1–2 years | 45 | $27,295 | not reported | not reported |
| Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services | Certificate, 1–2 years | 33 | $16,802 | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Certificate, 1–2 years | 30 | $33,372 | not reported | not reported |
| Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants | Certificate, under 300 hours | 30 | $38,732 | not reported | not reported |
| Ground Transportation | Certificate, under 300 hours | 26 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 1–2 years | 24 | $30,017 | not reported | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 2–4 years | 22 | $30,017 | not reported | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 1–2 years | 21 | $30,017 | not reported | not reported |
| Plumbing and Related Water Supply Services | Certificate, 1–2 years | 18 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Precision Metal Working | Certificate, 1–2 years | 16 | $31,729 | not reported | not reported |
| Precision Metal Working | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 16 | $31,729 | not reported | not reported |
| Dental Support Services and Allied Professions | Certificate, 1–2 years | 8 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Electrical and Power Transmission Installers | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 7 | $27,295 | not reported | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 7 | $30,017 | not reported | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 5 | $30,017 | not reported | not reported |
| Dental Support Services and Allied Professions | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 4 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 2–4 years | 3 | $30,017 | not reported | not reported |
| Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR) | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 2 | $30,489 | not reported | not reported |
Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.
Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.
About this school
Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Knoxville is a public trade and career school located in Knoxville, Tennessee. It is accredited by the Council on Occupational Education and participates in the federal Title IV financial aid program, meaning students can use FAFSA-based aid including Pell Grants. Across its 21 programs, the campus awards the most credentials in welding, LPN/LVN nursing, and auto mechanic training.
Federal data show a completion rate of 71.2%, which is above the Tennessee state average of 64.3%. Median earnings for graduates 10 years after entry are reported at $37,235. Annual cost of attendance is listed at $23,962, and 35.1% of students receive Pell Grants. Median debt of graduates is not reported for this campus in federal data.
This campus may suit students seeking shorter, hands-on career-training programs rather than traditional degree paths, given its focus on welding, nursing assistant, automotive, and similar trade fields; however, specific program lengths are not stated in the data provided, so applicants should confirm scheduling directly. Prospective students and career changers can verify accreditation status through the Council on Occupational Education and review official outcome data on the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard before enrolling.
Questions students ask
What trade and career programs does this campus offer?
The campus offers 21 programs across families including welding, LPN/LVN nursing, auto mechanics, electrician, HVAC, cosmetology, CNA, surgical tech, diesel mechanics, CDL training, plumbing, CNC machining, and dental assisting. The top programs by completions are welding, LPN/LVN, and auto mechanic training.
Is this school accredited, and by whom?
Yes, it is accredited by the Council on Occupational Education, with a status of Accredited.
Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?
Yes, this school participates in Title IV federal financial aid programs, so FAFSA and Pell Grants can be used.
What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?
The completion rate is 71.2%, which is above the Tennessee state average of 64.3%.
How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?
Median debt of graduates is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school directly or check the College Scorecard link for updates.
What do graduates of this school earn?
Median earnings 10 years after entry are reported at $37,235, per federal data.
How much does it cost to attend for a year?
The annual cost of attendance is $23,962.
Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?
This is a public school, which can affect tuition rates and institutional funding compared to private or for-profit schools.
How long do the programs here take to complete?
Program lengths are not reported in the data provided; contact the school at (865) 546-5567 or visit its website for details.
How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?
You can verify accreditation through the Council on Occupational Education and review official outcome data on the College Scorecard at https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?221625.
Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?
The data does not directly address career-changer fit, but the school's focus on trade programs like welding, nursing assistant training, and automotive repair may appeal to those seeking hands-on career training; specifics should be confirmed with the school.
What license or certification will I need after finishing a program here?
Licensing or certification requirements are not reported in this data; contact the school directly for program-specific requirements.
How do I contact the school or apply?
You can contact the school by phone at (865) 546-5567 or visit its website at https://www.tcatknoxville.edu/ for application information.
How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?
Comparative data with other nearby schools is not reported in this dataset; use the College Scorecard link to compare outcomes across institutions.
Other trade and career schools in Knoxville, TN
- South CollegeKnoxville, TN · college
- Tennessee School of Beauty of Knoxville IncKnoxville, TN · 82% completion
- Paul Mitchell the School-KnoxvilleKnoxville, TN · career school
- Ross Medical Education Center-KnoxvilleKnoxville, TN · 68% completion
- Douglas J Aveda InstituteKnoxville, TN · career school
- KTG Bus LinesKnoxville, TN
- OCC- CDL AcademyKnoxville, TN
- Pellissippi State Community CollegeKnoxville, TN · 32% completion
See all trade and career schools in Tennessee or search by ZIP code.
Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.