Career Training Path

Career Training Path › Tennessee › Tennessee College of Applied Technology Northwest

Tennessee College of Applied Technology Northwest

Newbern, Tennessee · Public technical college · Training programs available:

LPN / LVN programsCosmetology schoolsWelding schoolsCDL / truck driving schoolsHVAC schoolsAuto mechanic schoolsElectrician schoolsCNC & machining programsMedical assistant programsDental assistant schoolsBarber schoolsDiesel mechanic schoolsMedical billing & coding programsPharmacy technician programsConstruction trades programs
69%completion rate · Tennessee avg 64%
not reportedmedian debt of graduates
$35,765median earnings, 6 yrs after entry
$38,514median earnings, 10 yrs after entry
$14,677annual cost of attendance
Yesfederal aid (FAFSA / Pell) eligible
Accreditation: Council on Occupational Education (Accredited)
Address: 340 Washington St, Newbern, TN 38059 · Phone: (731) 627-2511 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
Accountability record (federal accreditation database, last 36 months; Department of Education oversight)
No accreditor sanctions in the last 36 months
Sanctions are probation, warning, show-cause and loss-of-accreditation actions by any recognized accreditor, including program-specific accreditors (a nursing-program probation counts for the campus). Routine monitoring reviews and voluntary withdrawals are not counted. Ask the school what the action concerned and how it was resolved.

Tennessee College of Applied Technology Northwest is a public trade school in Newbern, TN offering LPN, cosmetology, and welding programs, accredited by the Council on Occupational Education.

Per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, this campus has a 69.0% completion rate, near the state average of 64.3%, with median earnings of $38,514 ten years after entry. Median graduate debt is not reported for this campus.

Annual cost of attendance at Tennessee College of Applied Technology Northwest is $14,677, and the school participates in Title IV federal financial aid. About 24.2% of students receive Pell Grants.

Completion rate vs. benchmarks
Tennessee College of … Tennessee College of …: 69% 69% Tennessee average Tennessee average: 64.3% 64.3% National average National average: 62.1% 62.1%

What these trades pay once you're working

OccupationStarting (10th pct)MedianExperienced (75th)
Licensed practical and licensed vocational nurses$41,110$58,870$62,650
Hairdressers, hairstylists and cosmetologists$25,700$31,310$39,990
Welders, cutters, solderers and brazers$37,840$48,040$57,450
Heavy and tractor-trailer truck drivers$39,960$58,620$73,420
HVAC and refrigeration mechanics and installers$38,540$55,490$65,590
Automotive service technicians and mechanics$34,820$50,290$63,790
Electricians$39,600$61,090$76,060
Machinists$37,560$49,600$61,220
Medical assistants$34,840$39,570$45,580
Dental assistants$37,810$46,720$59,270
Barbers$22,850$24,690$31,930
Bus and truck mechanics and diesel engine specialists$40,450$59,190$71,610
Medical records specialists$37,320$48,780$62,930
Pharmacy technicians$35,550$41,920$48,270
Construction laborers$34,910$45,000$49,450

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in Tennessee (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.

Trade programs at this campus

ProgramCredentialGrads / yrEarnings, yr 1Earnings, yr 2Median debt
Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants Certificate, 300–899 hours 72 $32,550 $28,236 not reported
Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants Certificate, 1–2 years 69 $32,550 $28,236 not reported
Ground Transportation Certificate, under 300 hours 38 not reported not reported not reported
Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services Certificate, 1–2 years 37 $16,145 $14,442 not reported
Precision Metal Working Certificate, 1–2 years 31 $32,840 $28,960 not reported
Precision Metal Working Certificate, 300–899 hours 30 $32,840 $28,960 not reported
Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services Certificate, 300–899 hours 27 $16,145 $14,442 not reported
Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR) Certificate, 1–2 years 21 $23,975 $25,194 not reported
Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services Certificate, 300–899 hours 16 not reported not reported not reported
Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR) Certificate, 300–899 hours 15 $23,975 $25,194 not reported
Dental Support Services and Allied Professions Certificate, 1–2 years 14 not reported not reported not reported
Electrical and Power Transmission Installers Certificate, 1–2 years 13 not reported not reported not reported
Precision Metal Working Certificate, 1–2 years 13 $32,840 $28,960 not reported
Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services Certificate, 1–2 years 10 $16,145 $14,442 not reported
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Certificate, 2–4 years 10 $31,966 not reported not reported
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Certificate, 300–899 hours 8 $31,966 not reported not reported
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Certificate, 2–4 years 8 $31,966 not reported not reported
Electrical and Power Transmission Installers Certificate, 300–899 hours 6 not reported not reported not reported
Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services Certificate, 300–899 hours 5 $16,145 $14,442 not reported
Health and Medical Administrative Services Certificate, 1–2 years 5 not reported not reported not reported
Health and Medical Administrative Services Certificate, 300–899 hours 5 not reported not reported not reported
Precision Metal Working Certificate, 300–899 hours 5 $32,840 $28,960 not reported
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Certificate, 1–2 years 5 $31,966 not reported not reported
Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services Certificate, 1–2 years 4 not reported not reported not reported
Dental Support Services and Allied Professions Certificate, 300–899 hours 2 not reported not reported not reported
Building/Construction Finishing, Management, and Inspection Certificate, 2–4 years 1 not reported not reported not reported
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Certificate, 1–2 years 1 $31,966 not reported not reported
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Certificate, 300–899 hours 1 $31,966 not reported not reported

Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.

Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.

Visit the school's website ↗

Choosing a career program? Pick with the numbers.
Completion, debt and pay for real programs, plus one practical tip a week. Free.
Subscribe →

About this school

Tennessee College of Applied Technology Northwest is a public trade and career school in Newbern, Tennessee. It is accredited by the Council on Occupational Education, and students here can use federal financial aid, since the school participates in Title IV programs. Among its 28 program families, the campus awards the most credentials in LPN / LVN programs (141), Cosmetology schools (64), and Welding schools (61).

For outcomes, the campus reports a completion rate of 69.0%, which is near the state average of 64.3%. Median earnings 10 years after entry are reported at $38,514. Annual cost of attendance is listed at $14,677, and 24.2% of students receive Pell Grants. Median debt of graduates is not reported for this campus in federal data.

With 717 undergraduate students and 472 trade completers in a distant rural setting, this campus likely serves local students and career changers seeking hands-on training in fields like nursing support, cosmetology, and welding. Because specific program lengths are not detailed here, prospective students should contact the school directly to confirm scheduling and program duration. To verify accreditation status and review the latest federal outcome data, check the Council on Occupational Education and the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.

Questions students ask

What trade and career programs does this campus offer?

The campus offers 28 program families, with the most completers in LPN / LVN programs (141), Cosmetology schools (64), and Welding schools (61).

Is this school accredited, and by whom?

Yes, it is accredited by the Council on Occupational Education, and its accreditation status is listed as Accredited.

Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?

Yes, this school participates in Title IV programs, meaning federal financial aid including FAFSA and Pell Grants can be used.

What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?

The completion rate is 69.0%, which is near the state average of 64.3%.

How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?

Median debt of graduates is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school at (731) 627-2511 for more details.

What do graduates of this school earn?

Median earnings 10 years after entry are reported at $38,514.

How much does it cost to attend for a year?

Annual cost of attendance is reported at $14,677.

Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?

This is a public school, which typically means lower tuition and eligibility for state-level funding, in addition to federal aid.

How long do the programs here take to complete?

Program lengths are not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school directly to confirm scheduling.

How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?

You can verify accreditation through the Council on Occupational Education and review federal outcome data via the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard at https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?221236.

Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?

The data does not directly address career-changer fit, but the range of hands-on trade programs such as welding, cosmetology, and LPN training may appeal to adults seeking new career paths; contact the school for specifics on scheduling and flexibility.

What license or certification will I need after finishing a program here?

Licensing and certification requirements are not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school at (731) 627-2511 or visit https://www.tcatnorthwest.edu/ for program-specific requirements.

How do I contact the school or apply?

You can contact Tennessee College of Applied Technology Northwest at (731) 627-2511 or through its website at https://www.tcatnorthwest.edu/.

How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?

Comparative data with other nearby schools is not reported for this campus in federal data; check the College Scorecard at https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?221236 to compare campuses directly.

Nearby trade and career schools in Tennessee

See all trade and career schools in Tennessee or search by ZIP code.

Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.

The Path · Free weekly newsletter
Career training, minus the guesswork.
Which programs finish, what graduates owe, what they earn. Every week.
Subscribe →