Career Training Path

Career Training PathOhio › Wayne County Schools Career Center

Wayne County Schools Career Center

Smithville, Ohio · Public technical college

CNA classesWelding schoolsLPN / LVN programsMedical assistant programsCosmetology schoolsDental assistant schools
70%completion rate · Ohio avg 69%
$7,574median debt of graduates
$39,934median earnings, 6 yrs after entry
$42,774median earnings, 10 yrs after entry
$33,356annual cost of attendance
Yesfederal aid (FAFSA / Pell) eligible
Accreditation: Council on Occupational Education (Accredited)
Address: 518 W Prospect St, Smithville, OH 44677 · Phone: 33066970701322 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
Accountability record (federal accreditation database, last 36 months; Department of Education oversight)
Sanction on record, not yet lifted — Jun 2025 · Warning · Council on Occupational Education. 2 sanction actions in the window.
Sanctions are probation, warning, show-cause and loss-of-accreditation actions by any recognized accreditor, including program-specific accreditors (a nursing-program probation counts for the campus). Routine monitoring reviews and voluntary withdrawals are not counted. Ask the school what the action concerned and how it was resolved.

Wayne County Schools Career Center is a public trade school in Smithville, Ohio offering CNA classes, welding, and LPN programs, accredited by the Council on Occupational Education.

Wayne County Schools Career Center has a 70.2% completion rate versus a 68.8% state average, with median graduate debt of $7,574 and median earnings of $42,774 ten years after entry, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.

Annual cost of attendance at Wayne County Schools Career Center is $33,356, federal financial aid is available through Title IV, and 37.6% of students receive Pell Grants.

Completion rate vs. benchmarks
Wayne County Schools … Wayne County Schools …: 70.2% 70.2% Ohio average Ohio average: 68.8% 68.8% National average National average: 62.1% 62.1%

What these trades pay once you're working

OccupationStarting (10th pct)MedianExperienced (75th)
Nursing assistants$35,060$39,010$44,590
Welders, cutters, solderers and brazers$38,990$50,340$59,510
Licensed practical and licensed vocational nurses$50,030$61,950$65,900
Medical assistants$36,050$42,810$46,270
Hairdressers, hairstylists and cosmetologists$23,520$36,260$57,840
Dental assistants$36,870$47,970$59,520

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in Ohio (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.

Trade programs at this campus

ProgramCredentialGrads / yrEarnings, yr 1Earnings, yr 2Median debt
Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants Certificate, under 300 hours 41 $39,567 $36,992 $7,350
Precision Metal Working Certificate, under 300 hours 21 not reported not reported not reported
Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants Certificate, 1–2 years 10 $39,567 $36,992 $7,350
Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services Certificate, 1–2 years 7 not reported not reported not reported
Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services Certificate, 1–2 years 5 not reported not reported not reported
Dental Support Services and Allied Professions Certificate, 300–899 hours 3 not reported not reported not reported

Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.

Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.

Visit the school's website ↗

The Path · Free weekly newsletter
Career training, minus the guesswork.
Which programs finish, what graduates owe, what they earn. Every week.
Subscribe →

About this school

Wayne County Schools Career Center is a public trade and career training campus in Smithville, Ohio, accredited by the Council on Occupational Education and eligible for federal financial aid through Title IV. The campus offers six program families, with the most common being CNA classes, welding schools, and LPN/LVN programs, drawing on an undergraduate enrollment of 146 students and 87 trade completers.

Federal data shows a completion rate of 70.2%, which is near the Ohio state average of 68.8%. Graduates carry a median debt of $7,574, and median earnings ten years after entry are reported at $42,774. The annual cost of attendance is listed at $33,356, and 37.6% of students receive Pell Grants, indicating a meaningful share of low-income enrollment.

This campus may suit students pursuing shorter, hands-on certificate-style programs such as CNA training or welding, as well as those entering LPN programs, based on the program families listed; whether these fit an adult career-changer's schedule is not reported for this campus in federal data. Prospective students should independently verify accreditation status with the Council on Occupational Education and review official outcome figures through the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard before enrolling.

Questions students ask

What trade and career programs does this campus offer?

Wayne County Schools Career Center offers six program families, most commonly CNA classes, welding schools, and LPN/LVN programs.

Is this school accredited, and by whom?

Yes, the school is accredited by the Council on Occupational Education, with accreditation status listed as Accredited.

Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?

Yes, this school participates in Title IV federal financial aid programs, and 37.6% of students receive Pell Grants.

What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?

The completion rate is 70.2%, which is near the Ohio state average of 68.8%.

How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?

Graduates carry a median debt of $7,574 according to federal data.

What do graduates of this school earn?

Median earnings ten years after entry are reported at $42,774.

How much does it cost to attend for a year?

The annual cost of attendance is $33,356.

Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?

This is a public school, which can affect tuition levels and eligibility for certain state or federal funding compared to for-profit institutions.

How long do the programs here take to complete?

Program lengths are not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school directly at the phone number or website listed for details.

How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?

You can confirm accreditation through the Council on Occupational Education and review official federal outcome data via the College Scorecard at https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?433138.

Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?

The program mix includes shorter certificate-style training such as CNA and welding alongside LPN programs, but fit for adult career-changers specifically is not reported in federal data; contact the school to discuss scheduling.

What license or certification will I need after finishing a program here?

Licensing or certification requirements are not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school directly for program-specific licensure information.

How do I contact the school or apply?

You can reach Wayne County Schools Career Center by phone at 33066970701322 or visit their website at https://www.wayne-jvs.k12.oh.us/.

How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?

Comparative data with other nearby schools is not reported for this campus in federal data; the College Scorecard can be used to look up other institutions for comparison.

Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.

Choosing a career program? Pick with the numbers.
Completion, debt and pay for real programs, plus one practical tip a week. Free.
Subscribe →