Career Training Path
Students training in a welding program

Career Training Path › Welding schools › Wisconsin

Welding schools in Wisconsin

Wisconsin has 18 accredited campuses awarding welding credentials. If you finish and work as a welder in Wisconsin, expect to start around $47,060–$50,320 and reach a median of $58,410 with experience; the top quarter earn $62,220 or more (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, May 2025, Wisconsin). Graduates of these Wisconsin programs — every graduate, whatever job they took — earned a median of $38,399 in their first year, against $34,154 nationally; that is the figure used to rank campuses below.

What welders, cutters, solderers and brazers earn in Wisconsin

$47,060starting (10th percentile)
$50,320early career (25th)
$58,410median, all experience
$62,220experienced (75th)
$70,720top earners (90th)

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025; 15,320 employed in Wisconsin. National median: $53,750.

Campuses in Wisconsin, ranked by what their graduates earned

18campuses in Wisconsin
1,888credentials awarded / yr
$38,399median earnings, yr 1 (Wisconsin)
$34,154median earnings, yr 1 (U.S.)

Cities: AppletonClevelandEagle RiverEau ClaireFennimoreFond du LacGreen BayJanesvilleKenoshaKeshenaLa CrosseMadisonMilwaukeePewaukeeRhinelanderRice LakeWausauWisconsin Rapids

CampusCityTypeGrads / yrEarnings, yr 1Program debtCompletionCost / yr
Chippewa Valley Technical College Eau Claire Public technical college 111 $44,951 $9,250 50% not reported
Waukesha County Technical College Pewaukee Public technical college 104 $41,875 not reported 44% not reported
Western Technical College La Crosse Public technical college 40 $41,712 $5,916 34% not reported
Moraine Park Technical College Fond du Lac Public technical college 95 $41,595 $3,500 58% not reported
Northwood Technical College Rice Lake Public technical college 396 $40,582 $5,500 56% not reported
Blackhawk Technical College Janesville Public technical college 93 $39,838 not reported 34% not reported
Northcentral Technical College Wausau Public technical college 143 $39,636 $3,500 45% not reported
Northeast Wisconsin Technical College Green Bay Public technical college 74 $38,595 $5,500 51% not reported
Southwest Wisconsin Technical College Fennimore Public technical college 37 $38,589 $4,000 66% not reported
Milwaukee Area Technical College Milwaukee Public technical college 76 $38,209 $8,713 25% not reported
Gateway Technical College Kenosha Public technical college 171 $37,799 $9,500 51% not reported
Nicolet Area Technical College Rhinelander Public technical college 18 $37,556 not reported 44% not reported
Madison Area Technical College Madison Public college 96 $37,511 $9,500 not reported not reported
Fox Valley Technical College Appleton Public technical college 338 $37,105 $6,577 65% not reported
Lakeshore Technical College Cleveland Public technical college 52 $35,729 not reported 50% not reported
Mid-State Technical College Wisconsin Rapids Public technical college 41 $35,195 not reported 52% not reported
College of Menominee Nation Keshena non-profit college 3 not reported not reported not reported not reported
Advanced Welding Institute Eagle River career school — not reported not reported not reported not reported

Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.

Ranked by median earnings of this program's graduates one year after completion (College Scorecard field-of-study, Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026); campuses without a reported figure follow, by credentials awarded. "Program debt" is the median federal loan debt for graduates of this program at this campus. Completion is the campus-wide 150%-of-time rate. "Not reported" means the federal file suppresses the value for privacy.

Choosing a career program? Pick with the numbers.
Completion, debt and pay for real programs, plus one practical tip a week. Free.
Subscribe →

Other trades in Wisconsin

All trade and career schools in Wisconsin →

The Path · Free weekly newsletter
Career training, minus the guesswork.
Which programs finish, what graduates owe, what they earn. Every week.
Subscribe →