Career Training Path › CDL / truck driving schools › Iowa
CDL / truck driving schools in Iowa
Iowa has 50 accredited campuses awarding cdl credentials. If you finish and work as a tractor-trailer truck driver in Iowa, expect to start around $42,390–$48,350 and reach a median of $58,070 with experience; the top quarter earn $64,190 or more (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, May 2025, Iowa). Graduates of these Iowa programs — every graduate, whatever job they took — earned a median of not reported in their first year, against $38,603 nationally; that is the figure used to rank campuses below.
What heavy and tractor-trailer truck drivers earn in Iowa
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025; 35,040 employed in Iowa. National median: $58,640.
Campuses in Iowa, ranked by what their graduates earned
Cities: AltoonaAtlanticAudubon, IowaBloomfieldCedar RapidsCentervilleCherokeeDavenportDeWittDenisonDes MoinesEmmetsburgFort DodgeGarnavilloGrimesHarlanJohnstonKeokukLoganManchesterMaquoketaMarionMarshalltownMason CityMitchellvilleMontezumaMuscatineNew HamptonOttumwaPeostaSioux CityStrawberry PointWaterlooWaukonWest BurlingtonWilliamsburgWiltonWoodbinecamanche
| Campus | City | Type | Grads / yr | Earnings, yr 1 | Program debt | Completion | Cost / yr |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Western Iowa Tech Community College | Sioux City | Public technical college | 9 | not reported | not reported | 50% | not reported |
| Indian Hills Community College | Ottumwa | Public community college | 1 | not reported | not reported | 40% | not reported |
| 1-Day CDL, LLC | Altoona | CDL training provider | — | On the federal training-provider registry; the registry reports no outcome data. | |||
| CDL-Now | Mitchellville | CDL training provider | — | On the federal training-provider registry; the registry reports no outcome data. | |||
| CDL4All, LLC | Waterloo | CDL training provider | — | On the federal training-provider registry; the registry reports no outcome data. | |||
| Camanche School District | camanche | CDL training provider | — | On the federal training-provider registry; the registry reports no outcome data. | |||
| Carroll Cdl Training | Atlantic | CDL training provider | — | On the federal training-provider registry; the registry reports no outcome data. | |||
| Carroll Cdl Training | Audubon, Iowa | CDL training provider | — | On the federal training-provider registry; the registry reports no outcome data. | |||
| Cattle Drive Express | Strawberry Point | CDL training provider | — | On the federal training-provider registry; the registry reports no outcome data. | |||
| Cdl.l.l.c. | Maquoketa | CDL training provider | — | On the federal training-provider registry; the registry reports no outcome data. | |||
| Corridor CDL Training, INC. | Cedar Rapids | CDL training provider | — | On the federal training-provider registry; the registry reports no outcome data. | |||
| Custom CDL Training DSM | Johnston | CDL training provider | — | On the federal training-provider registry; the registry reports no outcome data. | |||
| Custom CDL Training LLC | Williamsburg | CDL training provider | — | On the federal training-provider registry; the registry reports no outcome data. | |||
| Custom CDL Training Marion | Marion | CDL training provider | — | On the federal training-provider registry; the registry reports no outcome data. | |||
| DMACC Transportation Institute | Des Moines | CDL training provider | — | On the federal training-provider registry; the registry reports no outcome data. | |||
| Davis County Community School District | Bloomfield | CDL training provider | — | On the federal training-provider registry; the registry reports no outcome data. | |||
| ELDT Solutions - Hiawatha | Cedar Rapids | CDL training provider | — | On the federal training-provider registry; the registry reports no outcome data. | |||
| ELDT Solutions - On Site Training - Davenport | Davenport | CDL training provider | — | On the federal training-provider registry; the registry reports no outcome data. | |||
| Eastern Iowa Community College | Muscatine | CDL training provider | — | On the federal training-provider registry; the registry reports no outcome data. | |||
| Eastern Iowa Community Colleges | Davenport | CDL training provider | — | On the federal training-provider registry; the registry reports no outcome data. | |||
| Fast-Pass Trucking Training | Waterloo | CDL training provider | — | On the federal training-provider registry; the registry reports no outcome data. | |||
| Five Star Driver Training and Safety Consulting | Davenport | CDL training provider | — | On the federal training-provider registry; the registry reports no outcome data. | |||
| Goldline CDL Training, LLC | Manchester | CDL training provider | — | On the federal training-provider registry; the registry reports no outcome data. | |||
| Grate Lakes CDL Training | Denison | CDL training provider | — | On the federal training-provider registry; the registry reports no outcome data. | |||
| IGNITE Pathways | Woodbine | CDL training provider | — | On the federal training-provider registry; the registry reports no outcome data. | |||
| Indian Hills Community College | Centerville | CDL training provider | — | On the federal training-provider registry; the registry reports no outcome data. | |||
| Iowa Central Community College/Transportation Technology Center | Fort Dodge | CDL training provider | — | On the federal training-provider registry; the registry reports no outcome data. | |||
| Iowa Lakes Community College | Emmetsburg | CDL training provider | — | On the federal training-provider registry; the registry reports no outcome data. | |||
| Iowa Valley Community College District | Marshalltown | CDL training provider | — | On the federal training-provider registry; the registry reports no outcome data. | |||
| Iowa Western Community College Atlantic | Atlantic | CDL training provider | — | On the federal training-provider registry; the registry reports no outcome data. | |||
| Iowa Western Community College Harlan | Harlan | CDL training provider | — | On the federal training-provider registry; the registry reports no outcome data. | |||
| Logan-Magnolia Community Schools | Logan | CDL training provider | — | On the federal training-provider registry; the registry reports no outcome data. | |||
| Meeks Entry Level Driver Training | Cedar Rapids | CDL training provider | — | On the federal training-provider registry; the registry reports no outcome data. | |||
| Montezuma Cmty School District | Montezuma | CDL training provider | — | On the federal training-provider registry; the registry reports no outcome data. | |||
| Northeast Iowa Community College | New Hampton | CDL training provider | — | On the federal training-provider registry; the registry reports no outcome data. | |||
| Northeast Iowa Community College | Peosta | CDL training provider | — | On the federal training-provider registry; the registry reports no outcome data. | |||
| Northeast Iowa Community College | Waukon | CDL training provider | — | On the federal training-provider registry; the registry reports no outcome data. | |||
| Northland Distributing Group, Inc. | Mason City | CDL training provider | — | On the federal training-provider registry; the registry reports no outcome data. | |||
| Pattison Company | Garnavillo | CDL training provider | — | On the federal training-provider registry; the registry reports no outcome data. | |||
| R. Johnson Creations (PEO) | Peosta | CDL training provider | — | On the federal training-provider registry; the registry reports no outcome data. | |||
| Reeder Transportation Training Center, Inc. | Davenport | CDL training provider | — | On the federal training-provider registry; the registry reports no outcome data. | |||
| School District | DeWitt | CDL training provider | — | On the federal training-provider registry; the registry reports no outcome data. | |||
| Southeastern Community College - Keokuk | Keokuk | CDL training provider | — | On the federal training-provider registry; the registry reports no outcome data. | |||
| Southeastern Community College - West Burlington | West Burlington | CDL training provider | — | On the federal training-provider registry; the registry reports no outcome data. | |||
| TanTara Transportation Corp. | Muscatine | CDL training provider | — | On the federal training-provider registry; the registry reports no outcome data. | |||
| WITCC - Beltway Center | Sioux City | CDL training provider | — | On the federal training-provider registry; the registry reports no outcome data. | |||
| WITCC - Cherokee | Cherokee | CDL training provider | — | On the federal training-provider registry; the registry reports no outcome data. | |||
| WITCC - Main Campus | Sioux City | CDL training provider | — | On the federal training-provider registry; the registry reports no outcome data. | |||
| Wilton Community School | Wilton | CDL training provider | — | On the federal training-provider registry; the registry reports no outcome data. | |||
| legacy plumbing and contracting LLC | Grimes | CDL training provider | — | On the federal training-provider registry; the registry reports no outcome data. | |||
Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.
Ranked by median earnings of this program's graduates one year after completion (College Scorecard field-of-study, Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026); campuses without a reported figure follow, by credentials awarded. "Program debt" is the median federal loan debt for graduates of this program at this campus. Completion is the campus-wide 150%-of-time rate. "Not reported" means the federal file suppresses the value for privacy.