Career Training Path › Minnesota › Dunwoody College of Technology
Dunwoody College of Technology
Minneapolis, Minnesota · Private non-profit college · Training programs available:
Address: 818 Dunwoody Blvd, Minneapolis, MN 55403 · Phone: (612) 374-5800 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
No accreditor sanctions in the last 36 months
Dunwoody College of Technology is a private non-profit trade school in Minneapolis, Minnesota, offering electrician, auto mechanic, and welding programs, accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.
Per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, graduates of Dunwoody College of Technology carry a median debt of $16,000 and earn a median of $61,511 ten years after entry; the campus completion rate compared to the state average is not reported.
Annual cost of attendance is not reported in federal data for Dunwoody College of Technology; contact the school for current tuition. Federal financial aid can be used here, and about 31.7% of students receive Pell Grants.
What these trades pay once you're working
| Occupation | Starting (10th pct) | Median | Experienced (75th) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Electricians | $47,480 | $78,160 | $101,410 |
| Automotive service technicians and mechanics | $38,310 | $58,390 | $73,250 |
| Welders, cutters, solderers and brazers | $45,690 | $60,280 | $65,410 |
| HVAC and refrigeration mechanics and installers | $48,220 | $76,350 | $87,190 |
| Machinists | $46,550 | $61,140 | $74,650 |
| Radiologic technologists and technicians | $67,080 | $83,400 | $98,900 |
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in Minnesota (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.
Trade programs at this campus
| Program | Credential | Grads / yr | Earnings, yr 1 | Earnings, yr 2 | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Electrical and Power Transmission Installers | Associate degree | 76 | $42,578 | $43,922 | $12,000 |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Associate degree | 37 | $40,790 | $40,896 | $12,000 |
| Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR) | Associate degree | 28 | $57,518 | $61,020 | $17,500 |
| Precision Metal Working | Certificate, 1–2 years | 19 | $44,042 | $41,308 | $5,500 |
| Precision Metal Working | Associate degree | 14 | $54,544 | $50,320 | $12,000 |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Associate degree | 8 | $53,846 | $62,012 | $16,000 |
| Precision Metal Working | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 8 | $44,042 | $41,308 | $5,500 |
| Precision Metal Working | Associate degree | 5 | $54,544 | $50,320 | $12,000 |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Associate degree | 4 | $40,790 | $40,896 | $12,000 |
Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.
Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.
About this school
Dunwoody College of Technology is a private non-profit trade and career school in Minneapolis, Minnesota. It is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission, and its radiologic technology program carries additional accreditation from the Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology. Federal financial aid, including FAFSA and Pell Grants, can be used at this school. Across its nine program families, the campus awards the most credentials in electrician schools, auto mechanic schools, and welding schools, with electrician training accounting for the largest share of completions.
Federal data shows 199 trade program completers out of an undergraduate enrollment of 1,533. The campus completion rate compared with the state average is not reported for this campus in federal data, though the state average completion rate is 48.2%. Graduates carry a median debt of $16,000, and median earnings ten years after entry are $61,511. Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data. About 31.7% of students receive Pell Grants, indicating a meaningful share of lower-income enrollment.
This campus may suit students seeking hands-on technical training in trades like electrical work, auto repair, or welding, though specific program lengths are not detailed here, so it's worth asking the school directly whether a given program fits an adult career-changer's schedule. To verify accreditation status and review the latest outcome figures, check the Higher Learning Commission's records and the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard listing for Dunwoody College of Technology before enrolling.
Questions students ask
What trade and career programs does this campus offer?
Dunwoody College of Technology offers nine program families, most notably electrician schools, auto mechanic schools, and welding schools, along with HVAC, CNC machining, and radiology technology programs.
Is this school accredited, and by whom?
Yes, the school is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission, and its radiologic technology program holds additional accreditation from the Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology.
Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?
Yes, this school participates in Title IV federal financial aid programs, so FAFSA and Pell Grants can be used here.
What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?
The campus completion rate compared with the state average is not reported for this campus in federal data. The Minnesota state average completion rate is 48.2%, for reference.
How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?
Graduates carry a median debt of $16,000, per federal data.
What do graduates of this school earn?
Median earnings ten years after entry are $61,511, per the College Scorecard.
How much does it cost to attend for a year?
Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school directly for current tuition figures.
Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?
Dunwoody College of Technology is a private non-profit school, which typically means tuition revenue is reinvested into the institution rather than distributed to shareholders.
How long do the programs here take to complete?
Program lengths are not reported in the data provided; contact the school at (612) 374-5800 or visit its website for program-specific timelines.
How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?
You can confirm accreditation through the Higher Learning Commission and review federal outcome data on the College Scorecard at the provided link.
Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?
The data does not specify program formats or schedules designed for adult learners, so career-changers should contact the school directly to confirm fit.
How do I contact the school or apply?
You can reach Dunwoody College of Technology at (612) 374-5800 or through its website, https://www.dunwoody.edu/.
How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?
This data does not include comparisons with other nearby schools; consult the College Scorecard to compare completion rates, debt, and earnings across institutions.
Other trade and career schools in Minneapolis, MN
- Minneapolis Community and Technical CollegeMinneapolis, MN · 20% completion
- Aveda Arts & Sciences Institute MinneapolisMinneapolis, MN · 68% completion
- Mahir TransportationMinneapolis, MN
- Minnesota School of BarberingMinneapolis, MN · career school
- Hennepin Technical CollegeBrooklyn Park, MN · 42% completion
- Northwestern Health Sciences UniversityBloomington, MN · university
- Herzing University-MinneapolisSt. Louis Park, MN · university
- Empire Beauty School-BloomingtonBloomington, MN · 78% completion
See all trade and career schools in Minnesota or search by ZIP code.
Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.