Career Training Path › Minnesota › Minneapolis Community and Technical College
Minneapolis Community and Technical College
Minneapolis, Minnesota · Public technical college · Training programs available:
Address: 1501 Hennepin Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55403 · Phone: (612) 659-6000 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
No accreditor sanctions in the last 36 months
Minneapolis Community and Technical College is a public trade school in Minneapolis, MN, offering CNA classes, dental assistant training, and HVAC programs, accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.
Minneapolis Community and Technical College has a 19.6% completion rate, below the Minnesota state average of 48.2%, with median graduate debt of $17,954 and median earnings of $40,086 ten years after entry, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.
Annual cost of attendance is not reported in federal data for Minneapolis Community and Technical College; contact the school for current tuition. It participates in federal financial aid, and 40.1% of students receive Pell Grants.
What these trades pay once you're working
| Occupation | Starting (10th pct) | Median | Experienced (75th) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nursing assistants | $38,010 | $46,680 | $49,330 |
| Dental assistants | $46,960 | $65,270 | $74,410 |
| HVAC and refrigeration mechanics and installers | $48,220 | $76,350 | $87,190 |
| Aircraft mechanics and service technicians | $52,100 | $81,980 | $131,840 |
| Welders, cutters, solderers and brazers | $45,690 | $60,280 | $65,410 |
| Pharmacy technicians | $38,110 | $48,300 | $54,440 |
| Automotive service technicians and mechanics | $38,310 | $58,390 | $73,250 |
| Machinists | $46,550 | $61,140 | $74,650 |
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in Minnesota (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.
Trade programs at this campus
| Program | Credential | Grads / yr | Earnings, yr 1 | Earnings, yr 2 | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants | Certificate, under 300 hours | 70 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Dental Support Services and Allied Professions | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 18 | not reported | $32,391 | not reported |
| Dental Support Services and Allied Professions | Certificate, 1–2 years | 17 | not reported | $32,391 | not reported |
| Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR) | Associate degree | 15 | $55,407 | $63,005 | $20,000 |
| Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR) | Certificate, 1–2 years | 13 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 8 | not reported | $30,409 | not reported |
| Precision Metal Working | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 8 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Precision Metal Working | Associate degree | 7 | $43,504 | $55,512 | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Associate degree | 7 | $107,467 | not reported | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 2–4 years | 7 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 7 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Precision Metal Working | Associate degree | 5 | $43,504 | $55,512 | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 3 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 3 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR) | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 2 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Dental Support Services and Allied Professions | Associate degree | 1 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.
Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.
About this school
Minneapolis Community and Technical College is a public trade and career campus located in Minneapolis, Minnesota, in a large-city setting. The school participates in federal financial aid (Title IV), meaning eligible students can use FAFSA, Pell Grants, and federal loans to help pay for programs. It holds accreditation from the Higher Learning Commission, the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing, and the American Dental Association's Commission on Dental Accreditation. Among its 16 program families, the most-completed trade programs are CNA classes (70 completers), dental assistant schools (36 completers), and HVAC schools (30 completers).
Federal data show a completion rate of 19.6%, which is below the Minnesota state average of 48.2%. Median debt for graduates is reported at $17,954, and median earnings 10 years after entry are reported at $40,086. About 40.1% of students receive Pell Grants. Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data.
With a total undergraduate enrollment of 5,268 and 191 trade completers, this campus offers a mix of short career-training certificates and longer programs across health, skilled trades, and technical fields. Prospective students, including adult career-changers, should confirm specific program lengths, schedules, and costs directly with the school, since these details are not reported in federal data. To verify accreditation status and review the latest federal outcome figures, check with the listed accreditors or search the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard.
Questions students ask
What trade and career programs does this campus offer?
Minneapolis Community and Technical College offers 16 program families, with the most completions in CNA classes, dental assistant schools, and HVAC schools. Other listed families include aviation mechanic, welding, pharmacy tech, auto mechanic, and CNC machining programs.
Is this school accredited, and by whom?
Yes, the school is accredited. It holds accreditation from the Higher Learning Commission, the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing, and the American Dental Association's Commission on Dental Accreditation.
Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?
Yes, this school participates in Title IV federal financial aid programs, so eligible students can use FAFSA, Pell Grants, and federal loans.
What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?
The completion rate is 19.6%, which is below the Minnesota state average of 48.2%.
How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?
Median debt for graduates is reported at $17,954.
What do graduates of this school earn?
Median earnings 10 years after entry are reported at $40,086.
How much does it cost to attend for a year?
Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data. Contact the school at (612) 659-6000 or visit its website for current tuition figures.
Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?
This is a public institution, which typically means lower tuition for state residents and eligibility for state and federal aid programs.
How long do the programs here take to complete?
Specific program lengths are not reported in the available data. Contact the school directly to confirm program duration.
How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?
You can verify accreditation through the Higher Learning Commission and the other listed accreditors, and review federal outcome data through the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard at https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?174136.
Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?
The campus offers a mix of shorter career-training programs and longer technical programs across health, trades, and technical fields, though specific scheduling details for adult learners are not reported in this data. Contact the school to discuss options for career changers.
How do I contact the school or apply?
You can reach Minneapolis Community and Technical College at (612) 659-6000 or through its website, https://www.minneapolis.edu/.
How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?
This data does not include comparisons with other nearby schools; use the College Scorecard link to look up and compare other institutions offering similar programs.
Other trade and career schools in Minneapolis, MN
- Dunwoody College of TechnologyMinneapolis, MN · college
- Aveda Arts & Sciences Institute MinneapolisMinneapolis, MN · 68% completion
- Mahir TransportationMinneapolis, MN
- Minnesota School of BarberingMinneapolis, MN · career school
- Hennepin Technical CollegeBrooklyn Park, MN · 42% completion
- Herzing University-MinneapolisSt. Louis Park, MN · university
- Normandale Community CollegeBloomington, MN · 27% completion
- Anoka-Ramsey Community CollegeCoon Rapids, MN · 30% completion
See all trade and career schools in Minnesota or search by ZIP code.
Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.